Skip to main content

Early Years

Our Nursery and Reception classes are the places where foundations are laid; the children have the opportunity to learn about God, about themselves and about how they interact with the world around them. Learning often takes place through play - working collaboratively with others, learning to work and play within boundaries, while also enjoying the freedom to be imaginative and creative.  

We cover the seven learning areas of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children up to 5 years old.

The areas of learning are:

  • communication and language
  • physical development
  • personal, social and emotional development
  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design